Over 100 nominees up for prizes at 2022 North West Women in Tech Awards


More than 100 people and teams across the North West have been nominated for this year’s TalkTalk Women in Tech Awards. The event, back bigger and better this November for its second year, celebrates the achievements of women working in the technology sector across the region. 

The TalkTalk North West Women in Tech awards will take place at First Street Bar and Kitchen on Wednesday 2 November. The evening is by invitation only. It will be hosted by Tristia Harrison, CEO of TalkTalk, and awards will be handed out by entrepreneur Gary Neville. 

Nominations were invited from the public this summer across six award categories: Rising Star, Innovation/Innovator, Tech for Good, Mentor of the year, Team of the year, Outstanding Achievement. 

A winner in each category will be announced on the awards night, however the range and breadth of people put forward shows the depth of female tech talent across our region. Everyone who was nominated is listed below. 


Alison Chiwara, Charlene Chigumira, Farhana Fatima Khan, Flóra Harai, Hannah Atherton, Hannah Hammonds, Hannah Venning, Mahalakshmi Iyer, Jade Oakley, Jen Openshaw, Jigyasa Grover, Juliana Ferreira, Katie Din, Kay Vose, Kimberley Dearlove, Kira O’Donoghue, Lauren Edmondson, Lauren Williams, Manisha Varu, Niomie Haynes, Omotosho Mary Pelumi, Rachel Inskip, Ruby Melling, Sally Davis, Sameenah Patel, Sarah Pates, Simone Heilman, Sophia Ben-Yousef, Victoria Hanley, Yas Soto, Yasmin Sidat, Yun Chen  


Beckie Taylor, Camilla Ellerton, Claire Bailey, Danielle Summers, Karen Snape  


Cheryl Stevens MBE, Claire Rawlinson, Emma-Louise Fusari, Georgia Wheedon, Hannah Drake, InnovateHer, Judy Leung, Kelly Widdicks, Laura Pomfret and Holly Holland, Maram Yehiah, Marie Danby, Melissa Church, Neha Garg, Rebecca Mahoney, Roxana Lawton, Sara Wilcock, Tech Returners  


Alexandra Brown, Amanda Newman, Amber Keats, August Aldred, Beckie Taylor, Catherine Trotter, Debbie Street, Emily Winter, Emma Price, Georgiana Baragan, Jo Sheerin, Julie King, Kelly Widdicks, Laura Derbyshire, Lisa Armstrong, Lucy Bushby, Lucy Yiasoumi, Mand Cashin, , Ronah Solon, Samantha Mitcham, Varuna Venkatesh  


ACE Team, Manchester Tech Festival, KPMG (Amy Todd), Tech Returners (Beckie Taylor), Digital Everyone (Claire Fewings), Manufacturing Alliance (Gary Sheader), InnovateHer, Manchester Metropolitan University (Mandy Parkinson), JJ Smith Woodworking and Machinery (Rachel Smith), Skills City team  


Alice Spreckley, Beckie Taylor, Bijal Majithia, Elena Gifford, Gill Parry, Hannah Lewis, Jen Henson-Fisher, Jennifer Openshaw, Joeli Brearley, Kimberley Jackson-Diskin, Lalita D'Cruze, Laura Herbert, Mhairi Davidson, Philippa Glover, Rachel Gregory, Rebecca Stephenson, Sarah Swallow, Seónaid Lafferty, Tiffany Thorn  


The judges tasked with choosing this year’s winners are:  

  • Debbie Brown, Strategic Director of Service Reform - Salford Council 

  • Maja Borota-Nedic, Director of Engineering - Booking.com 

  • Lou Cordwell OBE, Chief Creative Officer – Magnetic; Director - ID Manchester and Chair - GM LEP   

  • Professor Helen Marshall, Vice Chancellor - The University of Salford 

  • Katie Prescott, Technology Business Editor - The Times 

  • Vikas Shah MBE, entrepreneur, philanthropist, University of Manchester Honorary Professor and CEO Swiscot Group 

  • Naomi Timperley, co-founder - Tech North Advocates, Manchester Tech Festival and in Computer Weekly’s top 50 Most Influential Women in UK IT 

  • Rebecca Wearn – Senior Broadcast journalist - BBC 

For more details on the awards, and on how to attend, email - talktalkwomenintech@talktalkplc.com 


TalkTalk Women in Tech LinkedIn page -  https://www.linkedin.com/groups/12669049/  

TalkTalk Women in Tech report – TalkTalk Women in Tech report • TalkTalk Group